PDA

View Full Version : leathers w/ sps tank

MLCT
04/04/2006, 04:48 PM
I am fairly new to keeping sps corals and have set up a 180 with sps keeping in mind. I currently have 3 acros and a few monti cap frags.
I received a finger leather and colt coral frag from a friend. Are these OK to keep with my sps or should I get rid of them?
Thanks for your help.

Kreeger1
04/04/2006, 04:52 PM
some finger leathers are bad with sps corals. They release certain chemicals that irratate sps corals. I personally keep to leathers in my sps dominated 180 and don't have a problem. But there not finger leathers or Sinularia.

samsfishnchips
04/04/2006, 04:53 PM
MLCT,

best is to keep them out of the tank

if you like them it can work, two tips I would suggest

1. run carbon (eliminates chemicals release by the leather)
2. don't frag them inside the tank (release the chemicals)

have a buddy with killer yellow fiji leather, very nice

sam

Covey
04/04/2006, 06:21 PM
Mike Paletta came and gave a talk on SPS coloration to my club GIRS. During his slide show i noticed a few leathers in his 1200G SPS dream tank and I aksed him about the mixing subject. While he did bring up the toxin thing he said he believes it was over blown. Back in the day when SPS were impossible people had tanks full of established large leather you would try to add a SPS and it would trigger a defense respond from the established large leathers, dead SPS. Times have change now people have whole tanks full of SPS and adding a couple small leathers to tank of SPS isn't going to kill them off.

That being said the carbon and skimming is still a good idea(when is it not).

mr pink floyd
04/04/2006, 07:12 PM
i have a 29, and am adding T5 very soon.