PDA

View Full Version : Im new to SPS corals...... any info?

reefkeeper27439
04/04/2006, 07:27 PM
Hi,
im new to SPS corals and i was just thinking about what they need i just got a bright yellow SPS frag and the guy at the fish store told me it would grow about 1 inch a month.

Thanks

DaddyJax
04/04/2006, 07:45 PM
Umm...no offense but we need some info on your tank. Lights, size, skimmer, how long it has been setup, water parameters, what are supplementing....this will help us help you. Do you know the name of the coral?

Brewen
04/04/2006, 08:10 PM
An inch a month wow! I might question your LFS a little closer. Even in the best of tanks that much growth is amazing. Yes I would need to more your tank

reefkeeper27439
04/04/2006, 08:12 PM
No i dont know the name of the coral. My tank has been set up for amout 3 and a half years i have a protein skimmer it is one that can be put on a tank up to 75 gallons (mine is 55 gallons).
um.... my nitrate is under 20 and im trying to get it lower my clacium is about 350 amonia 0 my nitrite is 0 ph is between 8.0 and 8.4. my salt level is about 24.5 ppm, is this to hight? I have 6 fish one is a vlamingii tang (yes im geting a bigger tank) one wachmen goby one purple fire fish one false perk one yellow tail damsel and one yellow chromis. My lights are 2 T5s and one actinick light not shure the wattage and one daylight 10,000k light.

reefkeeper27439
04/04/2006, 08:17 PM
and i get sun light all day.

Mariner
04/04/2006, 08:33 PM
Here's some info that might help:
-- Calcium should be kept at 400+ for SPS (Never lower than 360).
-- Alkalinity should be kept at 7 to 11 dKH
-- Most SPS need lots of light -- much more than a couple of T5's can provide.
-- Nitrate should be zero, or near it for SPS. Softies don't mind a little nitrate, SPS do.