PDA

View Full Version : can't get orp over 300


dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 10:01 AM
My orp is reading @ 260-290 throughout the day @ different times of day. I have a Red Sea 200mg Plus.

It's currently being "TEED" 1 inlet from the Skimmer JG Fitting sharing it with my calcium reactor. Could this be the problem?

Ti
04/05/2006, 11:04 AM
what do you have the dosage at?

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 11:12 AM
about 60-75mg/hr it's been over a week and still hanging around the same.

bljohnson
04/05/2006, 11:30 AM
I have the same unit but only use it for testing purposes. I noticed with weekly water changes and changing the filter sock 2X a week I can keep the ORP 400-430. I also have a wavebox and 3 Seios on a 180 so I think that most of the detritus is making it through the overflow and is not sitting on the rocks/sand and decomposing.

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 11:37 AM
maybe you need a air dryer. Try water changes too.

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 11:42 AM
I have 2x 500mg dryer.

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 11:45 AM
and you recharge them right? when i cant get opr levels up I do a waterchange

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 11:55 AM
I've tried multiple combinations. Since I have 2 I've tried to hook up both @ once, but usually I recharge 1 tube and use a fresh tube while I let the newly recharge tube sit for awhile to completely dry until I need to recharge the old tube.

psimitry
04/05/2006, 12:09 PM
How long has it been since you cleaned your probe? I've been told that the probe has to be cleaned every two weeks in vinegar to give accurate readings.

Also - I could be wrong, but even for your 100G tank, 60-75mg/hr sounds like WAY too much. I dose about 6 mg/hr on my 50G and am able to keep my ORP where I want it to be.

Ti
04/05/2006, 12:09 PM
Have you cleaned your probe?

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 12:09 PM
I was wondering if a drop in orp will be a good indicator to do a waterchange. If so that will be awesome.

Your low orp level might have something to do with a dead organism hidden in your tank like a snail. Have you ever gotten your orp levels above 290? you are introducing ozone through your skimmer right?

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 12:11 PM
and I totally forgot about mentioning the probe cleanings

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 12:11 PM
your skimmer may not be able to process enough ozone. I had that problem

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 12:25 PM
My probe is only brand new. I did a calibration with a 230 solution and it reads @ 245. I've tried soaking it in Vinegar as well. That's usually the first thing I do when I sense something's wrong with any of my probes. :)

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 12:36 PM
pinpoint orp controller?

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 12:41 PM
No, the RS Plus model is an all in one unit, has the controller built in but I"m using a PP probe cause I stepped on the brand new RS probe that can with it. :mad2:

PelagicMagic
04/05/2006, 12:44 PM
I would try to get another reading with another unit. Maybe you can borrow someones orp meter to check your own.

You are processing ozone through your calcium reactor?

Try a few waterchanges in the mean time

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 12:52 PM
Yah it's hooked up to my EV-180 JG fitting.... am I not supposed to?

BTW: Since the JG fitting is suited for only 1/4 OD tube, I shoved that tube into the Ozone tubing then connected to the skimmer.

jdieck
04/05/2006, 01:06 PM
Some things to notice here:

a) The probe is too new, many take about two weeks from new to start reading properly.

b) Get the testing fluid, it is set for readings between 450 and 500, if your probe measures beteen that range it is OK.
The Red Sea has no calibration so it will either read OK or not so do not even bother getting a calibration kit.

c) Probes get damaged if they are dry for more than minutes, was there liquid in the cap when you got it? did you rrinsed the salty deposits from the tip before using it. If you did not it will just take longer to measure. If it was dry the only way to know if it is damaged is to use the test (reference) fluid.

d) Check for incompatible materials. Many JG connectors or valves are made with Nylon or some other incompatible materials and get virtually dissolved by the Ozone, try finding PVC fittings, Kel F or similar. Also the O ring seals of your skimmer may be incompatible as most are Buna N (Black material) For compatibility look for Silicone O rings (Red) you can get them at www.mcmaster.com

dannieboiz
04/05/2006, 01:55 PM
Besides the skimmer, where is another area where I can inject the ozone into? I kinda wait to dedicate the JG fitting on the skimmer to the CA reactor since that's what it was meant to be for.

jdieck
04/05/2006, 02:44 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7117536#post7117536 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by dannieboiz
Besides the skimmer, where is another area where I can inject the ozone into? I kinda wait to dedicate the JG fitting on the skimmer to the CA reactor since that's what it was meant to be for.

Keep it connected there just inspect it at least every two weeks for internal deterioration by disconnecting the ozone hose and use a Q Tip to sweep the inside, if it comes clean it still OK.

Ti
04/15/2006, 07:44 PM
how old is the probe?

dannieboiz
04/15/2006, 07:47 PM
Ti: As mentioned the probe was brand new, that night u guys were at my house was the 2nd nite it was installed. Looks like it needed to be broken in. ORP reading 400 now. :)

Ti
04/15/2006, 08:24 PM
so it took 2 weeks?
Whatr u using now?

dannieboiz
04/16/2006, 07:46 PM
I'm still using that same red sea ozone setup. Torn between neptune controller and keeping this. Taking a heavy hit on the Ozone setup. :(

Kurt03
04/16/2006, 08:04 PM
newb here, what is orp
:o

Ti
04/17/2006, 09:04 PM
oxidation reduction potential