PDA

View Full Version : Can extra megaflow be a CL?

ambaratur
04/19/2006, 11:47 AM
I am currently planning a 90 Gal FOWLR with hopes of someday keeping softies and LPS corals as well.

I was toying with the idea of ordering a dual megaflow for the 90 AGA.

Would it be possible to use 1 of the overflows for the sump and the other one for a closed loop?

I have never had an overflow system before so I have not been able to figure out if you can hook up a pump to suck water from the 1" drain and pump it back in - will it just be sucking air at times? It would be my intention to return the water through a homemade manifold at the top of the tank with 4-6 outlets using the flextube.

Sorry for the silly question - but I am new at this and of course can not experiment at this time... :)

Thanks,
Amb

rickh
04/19/2006, 12:35 PM
Careful--the MagaFlow is big--about 12" x 6". They take up a lot of room. R

ambaratur
04/19/2006, 04:17 PM
Good point - do you think I would be better off just going over the back for the closed loop intake etc?

phc567
04/19/2006, 04:24 PM
tagging along

kraze3
04/19/2006, 05:35 PM
I think youd be better off going over the back of the tank. No powerheads especially something 12 x 6. Ive seen lots of tanks with CLs and im planning one out for my 75, hopefully ill get it done soon. My vote, go for the CL.

techreef
04/20/2006, 10:43 AM