PDA

View Full Version : anemones....?

jwhitlow1031
04/19/2006, 09:48 PM
does anyone know if there are any descent anemones that will do alright under low light? i only have 130 watts pc lights, the anemone could go about 5 inches from the top of the water though... the tank is a softy tank, ill include a pic... the anemone would go to the right of the Xenia... the top right of the rock pile... there's a bit of brownish star polyps right there now, could easily be taken out...
http://pic18.picturetrail.com/VOL906/4312776/9080079/135026573.jpg

LarryDinNC
04/19/2006, 09:55 PM
I'm a newbie, but from what I've read and minimal experience, your best bet would be a bubble-tip anemone. I also have 130w PC lighting and discovered a BTA as a hitchhiker on a piece of LR I bought. It is about 1 ft below light but hasn't shown any attempt to move. I've had it since 4/1/06 so it's too early to tell how well it will do long term, but so far so good. I bought a Clarkii clown to go with it and the clownfish loves the BTA. I'm not sure how the BTA feels about the clownfish but I believe the feeling is mutual.

btw, your tank looks great!

jwhitlow1031
04/19/2006, 10:05 PM
hey, thanks LarryDinNC... yea, the tanks been a work in progress this isn't the most recent shot either... but im tired of the star polyps so im thinking ill take them off my rocks. a friend of mine has a clam under similar lighting so im thinking ill try one too, think ill put it where those greenish star polyps above of the purple gorgonian next to the shrimp... but i'd like to try a anemone.... my dad wants one too... anyone know if the false perc. clown would pair with a bubble tip?

davocean
04/20/2006, 09:00 AM
I've had an LTA and Sebae under PC's for4 years now, and they are very healthy/ happy ( check my gallery)
Only problem is that they decide where they are going to stay, and whatever they touch will be stressed hard or die.