PDA

View Full Version : Sea water vs Mixed water

BigElephant
04/20/2006, 06:15 AM
Dear all,

I have been reading the thread and it seems like everyone is mxiing the salt water for their water change. I have been buying the sea wate from LFS.

Are there any difference? Is there one better than others? Since I have only 45 Gal tank, I am only doing 5 gal water change every 2 weeks and it costs me $2.25 (or $2.00) per 5 gal. Is it worth to invest into the RO/RI unit for water change?

Thank you for your advise.

bjonesjr1
04/20/2006, 07:04 AM
I have a 55 gallon tank and just go to the LFS for my water changes. It costs me 2.50 for 5 gallons, other than that I have no use for a RO/DI unit in my apartment, maybe when I move into a house their could be other uses for it, like drinking water, Ice cube maker... etc.

Chromed1
04/20/2006, 07:05 AM
Sean,

I am no expert on the subject but, read a great thread about ro/di units. The writer stated that he looked at the break even point to buy the unit. Meaning if you are spending $2.25 every 2 weeks, how long would it be before you have spent enough that you could have bought your own ro/di unit. Makes a lot of sense to me... Most units I see are about $200 and will save me the hassle of lugging 5 gallon jugs back and forth.

Amphiprion
04/20/2006, 07:06 AM
If you have access to good natural seawater and it isn't absurdly expensive, I would go with that. Take advantage of it, as artificial mixes can hardly even approximate the real thing.

BigElephant
04/20/2006, 07:25 AM
Thanks Chromed1,

I do have one for the drinking water that is RO only I belive. This is unit for $150. Do you know if DI unit makes that much different?

chuckh
04/20/2006, 07:26 AM
i just got my typhoon 3 yesterday and my pops is coming over to hook it up into my water lines on saturday. i will be making my own water so the question i might have is....