PDA

View Full Version : Newbie here w/ questions

Joe923667
04/27/2006, 11:57 PM
Hello to all and I have been lurking for a bit, you have a nice site here.

I have a freshwater and I am looking to get a saltwater aquarium but I am having a hard time getting a good answer on what I am going to need. I would like to state before I ever start a reef tank i want to start on something small with just some fish. My question is what dry goods am I going to need? I know to start I will need a heater,filtration (active charcoal,live rock, and filter), hydrometer, and probably an air pump. Should I get the water balanced correctly before adding live rock? I really would like to start buying all the materials but I don't want to waste money on things I am not going to need. Also what is a good fish to start with? I am eventually wanting to get a Volitan Lionfish.

bertoni
04/28/2006, 12:00 AM
[welcome]

This thread is a good place to start:

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=239848

Joe923667
04/28/2006, 12:45 AM
what is a good water temp to start with and/or maintain fish. My freshwater is kept right around 80, should i do the same for salt?

mg426
04/28/2006, 01:25 AM
80 is a good number

Sk8r
04/28/2006, 08:56 AM