PDA

View Full Version : Select Fiji Premium Live Rock

bkv1997
04/28/2006, 09:18 PM
I want to start off by saying I have been ordering from LiveAquaria for over 4 years and this is the first time I have ever been unhappy, I really hope the below is an isolated issue.

http://www.liveaquaria.com/product/prod_Display.cfm?pCatId=397

A couple quotes:
"The average size of each rock in a 22 and 45 pound box varies between 6 and 14 inches."

"We leave out the rubble that is often found at the bottom of the box when the shipments of this style rock enters the country"

"80-90% covered in Coralline algae"

Pictures of what I recieved:
1 10-12" rock
http://www.livingreefs.com/gallery/files/1/9/4/LiveRock1.jpg

2 6-8" Rocks
http://www.livingreefs.com/gallery/files/1/9/4/LiveRock2.jpg

5 3-5" Rocks all smaller than the 6" minimum in the description.
http://www.livingreefs.com/gallery/files/1/9/4/LiveRock3.jpg

15.8 pounds of rubble... Read quote above...
http://www.livingreefs.com/gallery/files/1/9/4/Gravel.jpg

As you can see there is no 90% Coralline Coverage. I hate to post this here, but when I called customer service explaining that what I had recieved wasn't what I was expecting I was told "the coralline always dies off during shipping, after you cure it you will see the 90% coralline coverage". Anyways I have emailed these same pictures to customerservice@liveaquaria.com.

And just to touch on the weight issue:
I was shipped 40.2 pounds of live rock. 15.8 of that was complete rubble. So of the 24.4 pounds I even consider usable probably 6-8 pounds of that was all below the 6" minimum. So for $160 dollars I got (3 rocks) around 18 pounds of what I consider uncured and maybe 15-20% coralline covered rock.

Hopefully you guys can see this isn't right and will make it better.

Again this is the only order out of about 25 I have ever had an issue with.

Brandon

Brent Thomann
04/28/2006, 11:07 PM