PDA

View Full Version : Clams-care/tolerances/weakness's ?

boxfishpooalot
05/15/2006, 05:02 AM
Hi everyone. In my 11 years in this hobby I have learned a lot. Especially from Rc! Anyone that has owned a clam or had one, can you please eplain what you would think they can tolerate as far as water quality goes and lighting.

In my tank(wich is a fo and some corals-softies) I have the following water parameters:

Ammonia-0
nitrite-0
nitrates-probably 100=ppm(salifert)

Calcium-480
alkalinity-2.5meq/l
phosphate-3ppm(I know...)

Magnesium-1325ppm

You think I could get one? Probably not. But im working on the phosphates and nitrates for now.

I have t5 lighting with a 400watt 20k halide if needed(not in use right now)

How well do they do with nitrates and phospates as posted?

I need to find out as much information about them before I venture into another delicate animal.

Dazed And Confused
05/15/2006, 05:08 AM
What's the source of your nitrates and phosphate? I'm not a clam expert, just looking to learn.

boxfishpooalot
05/15/2006, 05:11 AM
phospahtes was from tap water. 2 weeks ago I got an ro unit(finally :D ) wich now reads close to zero phosphates(shouldnt have skimped on the di part) down from 3-4ppm of tap water phoshpates.

The nitrates were 2.5ppm or less with my sand bed, but due to my little bb adventrue :D they skewed to 200ppm from the removal of my sand bed and sugar additions. Wont do bb again...well maybee in the future.

Also bb rocks should be "cooked"(soaked in saltwater) wich I did not do,thats another factor.
Now I have sand again.lol.

Anemonebuff
05/15/2006, 07:23 AM
Using the 400 watt halide may be necessary depending on the amount of T5 you are running and the type of clam you want.

Crocea and maxima would like the additional light.

Dereasa and squamosa are more forgiving.

Clams ingest some nutrients. I do not think that they mind some nitrate and phosphate, as long as the phosphate is not interfering with calcification.

mbbuna