PDA

View Full Version : Nocturnal Anenome?

papagimp
05/15/2006, 11:29 AM
I have a Sabea in a 55g reef setup, and ever since he was donated to me I've have never seen him open up (been a couple weeks now), Well, the other night I noticed him directly under one of the led moon lights, wide open and looking great. Then the lights turned on that morning and he shrunk away again. I figured he would move to where he needed if he was unhappy, but he seems to like his current spot and only to open up at night. Any suggestions or comments?

raoul
05/15/2006, 05:56 PM
You said it was donated, what type of lighting was in the previous tank?

I'm not an expert, especially when it comes to the technical stuff, but you may want to upgrade your lighting, especially if it is used to more light.

What color is the nem? When we got ours, it was very white (bleached) and in pretty bad shape. We had 110watts of pc over our 30 gal. It wasn't enough. The nem didn't start showing signs of improvement until we upgraded to 250 mh lighting. Your 260 w of pc over a 55 gal is a little more than our pc lighting on our 30, but I don't know if it's enough.

Some people (with years of experience) have been able to keep theirs under pc lighting, but I don't recall the wattage, and generally, they respond better to something more than pc lighting.

Hopefully someone with more experience will chime in here!
Good luck

stykthyn
05/15/2006, 10:31 PM
it is a vampire anemone

dantodd
05/15/2006, 10:36 PM
That explains the red tips.

papagimp
05/16/2006, 06:52 AM
lol, actually he has blue tips.