PDA

View Full Version : What are these bugs? I have tons of them!

mnestroy
05/20/2006, 03:18 PM
What are these bugs, i just noticed them 2days ago, they are creaping me out... I have them all over the place :)

I am new to this hobby and I just lost all my fish (4) to ich... is this related?

http://www.mikenestroy.com/bug1.JPG

http://www.mikenestroy.com/bug.jpg

Gary Majchrzak
05/20/2006, 03:23 PM
Amphipods and their relatives are (generally) "good" and desirable in reef aquaria. Your "bugs" had nothing to do with Cryptocaryon (saltwater ick.)
See more info on 'pods in this article:

http://www.reefkeeping.com/issues/2004-08/rs/index.php

giorgiboy
05/20/2006, 03:29 PM
they are the good guys... fit healthy unstressed fish do not generally succumb to ich, stressed ones do.. check out your water conditions and whether the fish are compatible.....

xtrstangx
05/20/2006, 03:46 PM
Pods are good. They are pretty low on the food chain and most fish think they are a delicious snack.

11fishes
05/20/2006, 04:19 PM
i was a nubian once too and thought everything was a potential "bad-guy" to my babies, all i did was some reading and talking to my lfs and they set me straight. good luck and happy reefing in your venture in this wonderful adventure

Donjc
05/20/2006, 04:43 PM
Nice baby Pods don't kill them they are definitely the good guys

mnestroy
05/20/2006, 11:15 PM
Okay, thanks!

Heres my situation, tank is about 2.5months old, had a few fish after tank cycled... water checks out okay but fish died 5days ago from what I think was ich...

So now i got nothing in tank and I started to notice tons of these little guys... I assume since I have no fish these little bugs are starting to roam freely :)

Well once I feel brave enough and put some fish back in the tank the'll be plenty to snack on.

giorgiboy
05/21/2006, 02:23 AM