PDA

View Full Version : New at LPS

dpieroni
05/21/2006, 05:39 PM
Hi, I am a new reefer and I want to now recomendations from LPS keepers.
I have a soft coral 80 gallon tank and I want to add LPS corals.
I have two years of experience now and I have acomplish a stable reef tank.( Ca 390-430, alk 2.0 2.4, Mag 1350-1250) This are my parameters in a 1 month period time.
I have a 40" L * 24" high tank, and I am using a 250w 14K , One 39w T5 actinic and 1 30w NO actinic.
i also have a skimmer and a kalk reactor that drips on night abount 1,2 liters each day.
What suggestions do you have to start adding LPS corals?
Are my parameters and light ok?
What about the phosphate and other things?
Current? I have a seio 820 inside and a 400 gallon return pump from my overflow.
Any recomendations?
thanks in advance.
diego

rich415
05/21/2006, 06:30 PM
You parameters sound good. I would start with easier LPS such as Euphylias (frogspawn, Torch, Hammer) or Trumpet corals. Or what ever is the cheapest in Argentina. I usually start LPS in lower flow areas and then slowly move it into medium flow and see how it reacts. And sinsce you have alot of Soft corals, be sure to run activated carbon to take out any toxins the softies may release.

Good luck!

dpieroni
05/22/2006, 07:29 AM
Ok. What about lighting? I have a DE 250w 14K and I want to upgrade to an 250w 10K and two T5 actinic and blueplus.
Is that a good intense or I need more?
thanks
diego

reverendmaynard
05/22/2006, 09:38 AM
You should probably keep your alk higher. 2.5 is around the ocean's average. You want to be above that at all times. Most stony coral reefs are kept between 3 and 4.5 meq/l. This will give you some leeway if it drops for some reason.

You didn't list nitrates and phosphates, but you should be shooting for no more than 5ppm nitrate, and undetectable phosphates.

Lighting should be ok for most lps. Just feed them well and they should be fine.

rich415
05/22/2006, 03:25 PM