PDA

View Full Version : Please tell me th guy atthe fish store is wrong ? canister owners please read

j007dreamer
05/24/2006, 02:14 PM
Spoke to someone at the Fish store and was told that a canister filter will not work on a saltwater tank ??

I got a canister filter fluval 405 and im setting up a FO tank.

He said that every time i clean the filter it will recycle the tank and EVERYTHING WILL DIE !!!!!!!!!!

Is this True ???

Danfish
05/24/2006, 02:16 PM
While I'm not experienced nor have ever used a canister I think its totaly wrong.
Most of your cycle bacteria will be in your sandbed and live rock.
So unless you have little of those, you should be ok.
But I'm new too and don't know too much of anything about canisters.

WaterKeeper
05/24/2006, 02:19 PM
Well, if you clean it with garage floor cleaner and don't rinse it it will. :D

Nonsense, you don't want to use a cannister as a biological filter. That is not good in SW. However, for running carbon, chemical absorption media and just polishing the water they are great. It just so happens that I am (once again) discussing this in The Filtration Thread (http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=707105)

Iphis
05/24/2006, 02:19 PM
Canisters can work perfectly fine on saltwater tanks, but there are some things you need to be aware of.

You need to make sure you clean it twice a month. On the first time, just do a water change. A week or so later, really scrub down the media you have in there.

Often times, what happens is that the media within the canister can become whats referred to as a "nitrate factory" and it can cause serious problems in your tank. By staggering out the cleaning like I mentioned earlier, it will be much less of a shock to your system.

There is nothing wrong with a canister, you just have to know how to maintenance it.

Iphis

AquaReeferMan
05/24/2006, 02:31 PM