PDA

View Full Version : Last minute questions before filling up 24g Aquapod

thomasb
06/10/2006, 07:23 PM
Hi Everyone,

Any help you guys could give me would be much appreciated! I'm completely new to this hobby and I recently purchased an Aquapod 24. I intend to establish a routine reef tank with some fish. I haven't started the 24 yet, but I started a 5gal Eclipse about a month ago. The Eclipse has been going well for a month, and I've finally built up the courage to begin my Aquapod. I have some last minute questions before setting it up, though.

I've done my internet research, purchased a few books (Simple Guide to Mini-Reef aquariums, Saltwater Aquariums for Dummies, The Nano-Reef Handbook, and others), and asked alot of questions at my local fish store. Here's what I'm planning on using in my Aquapod as of right now:

Tahitian moon sand (Caribsea): 30 pounds or so-approx 2" sand bed
"Real Ocean Water" (Catalina Water Company)
Coralife dig thermometer
Coralife Aqualight Power Center
Visi-Therm Stealth 100wt heater
Stock pump
Salifert test kit (Ammonia, Calcium, Nitrite, and Nitrate)

I'm fairly confident with the cycling process, but I need to clearly know how to set up the back 2 chambers (even after many forum searches I still have these simple questions). I'm planning on using the stock pump, and it's set up in the left chamber (stuck to the bottom glass in the pod). Where do I put the thermometer, heater, and sponge? Do I ditch the ceramic media and bio balls and use live rock rubble instead? If so, in what chamber? What about the sponge filter? Right now I have the heater, pump, and thermometer in the left chamber and the right chamber is empty; it's intended for the sponge. Before I fill it with water, though, I want to make sure I'm good! Also, once I fill it with water, should both chambers fill up too? Once I get it filled up, do I run the lights before I add rock in a few days? I know, stupid questions, but I'm getting there...