PDA

View Full Version : Shark Tank

Ali_Z
06/16/2006, 10:24 AM
I have posed this question to a number of people but have not yet gotten the input from RC.

My plan is to have a set up which is to be one of these two:

25'x20'x10' = 37,402g

or

35'x25'x10' = 65,454g

Explain what filtration you would use on each system. In your explainatin please include the quantity of the filtration device and the configuration of the system.

Btw, when you guys have explained what you would use I will explain what I have compiled from my research.

This can be fun,

Thank you,

Ali

Ali_Z
06/16/2006, 03:00 PM
Also include the reason why.

Thank you,

Ali

binaryterror
06/16/2006, 06:14 PM
I am no expert, but the guy on here with the old 5000g shark tank used those big pond filters. The ones that are round in shape. I would use alot of those, put a different filter media in each filter unit. And if you have the extra money, get a HUGE refugium to take care of nitrates since sharks are such messy eaters.

Are you going to have live rock in there? if you are, then that could be a big part of the filtration also. but you would need a HELL of alot of rock. 40,000lbs.+! Hahaha!!

I would use the pond filters because they are meant for huge tanks/ponds with a big bio-load (some at least). Also, when I say use multiple filter units, I would put carbon in 1, then maybe fill one with a course filter pad, and then a fine filter pad, ect. And put them in any order you feel comfortable with. HTH!

reefnewbie54321
06/16/2006, 06:36 PM
I have a few questions for you before I answer yours. What do you plan on building out of? I assume cement and I also assume it will be an inground pond/tank becuase I dont see how you could build it 10 ft. tall above ground. Why 10 ft. tall? Sharks only need about 4 ft. of height. How many sharks and what sharks do you plan on keeping? This would determine the quanity of filtration.