PDA

View Full Version : Power filter question

sage_commander
06/20/2006, 07:51 PM
Hey everyone,

I'm a rookie with a brand new 46g bowfront AGA. I'm buying equipment as I'm able, and I'm looking at a power filter like the Marineland Emperor 400. I'd like someone to correct me if I'm wrong, but I figure this is a good choice for me because:
1) I'm going to have a skimmer to handle mechanical filtration,

2) I'm going to have LR for bio filtration,

3) I can use the power filter for chemical filtration (only when I need it?)

4) It's supposed to be a good choice for beginners,

5) I'm going FOWLER intending to upgrade as I get better.

So what do you think? I was looking at some of the more expensive filters, and figured I would get something reasonably priced so that I could get a *GOOD* skimmer. Is this a good way to go? Thanks.

Avi
06/20/2006, 08:11 PM
I don't think you'd need the powerfilter at all if you are going to have a substantial amount of live rock, say a minimum of 50-pounds and a good quality protein skimmer. If you need to run carbon or some phosphate reducing medium, it'd be all right, though.

sage_commander
06/20/2006, 08:17 PM
Hey, thanks for the reply. The only thing I was thinking I would need it for is to run chemicals like carbon. Is there another way to dose the water?

ghostrida3
06/20/2006, 08:41 PM
use a filter sock w/ activated carbon if u want to polish the water, dont buy the emperor, please dont buy the emperor, u will just get rid of it eventually. its a haven for nitrates and just not needed if you have the live rock. i bought one and now its just a nice hang on the back holder 4 my homemade kalk dripper. once again do not buy, use your money 4 a good protein skimmer.

IslandCrow
06/20/2006, 09:33 PM