PDA

View Full Version : Opinions: PADI vs SSI Cert

jafoca
06/22/2006, 07:48 AM
I'm studying in Australia for my fall semester, and want to be certified before I go. There are two different shops in my town, one PADI 5 star, and one SSI.

From talking with the instructors / owners of the dive shops, I really like the SSI shop better, but it seems like I would rather have the PADI cert. Also, the SSI guy was more willing to be flexible with when the class was run and assured me he would get me certified before I go to Australia.

What do you all think?

maractwin
06/23/2006, 02:42 PM
It's more important to find a competent instructor who you feel comfortable with than to choose one agency or another. Both PADI and SSI are recognized around the world. So if you like the SSI shop better, go with them.

-Mark

trstange
06/24/2006, 08:59 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7616076#post7616076 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by maractwin
It's more important to find a competent instructor who you feel comfortable with than to choose one agency or another. Both PADI and SSI are recognized around the world. So if you like the SSI shop better, go with them.

-Mark

I agree, go with the instructor you're most comfortable with, both agencys teach the same things.

fppf
06/24/2006, 09:08 PM
Yeah its more about the instructor than the lable on the card.

imtopora
06/25/2006, 02:50 PM
I just finished SSI and all 4 instructors at my shop were awesom. Most shops in my area teach PADI and none were as nice.

georgiaredhead2
06/25/2006, 08:17 PM