PDA

View Full Version : Help Me Choose My Lights!

J3838
06/22/2006, 09:45 PM
Hey everyone,

I just recieved my tank that is a 33 Gallon long and measures 48in (L) x 13in (W)x 12in (H). I want to get this bad boy up and running as soon as possible but i have to choose some lights for it. I would like to be able to keep softies, lps, and maybe a clam if possible.

I am a college student on a relatively tight budget despite working 35 hour weeks at school to support my aquatic obsessions :rolleyes: .... hehe but anyways... id like to keep my budge for lights below $400 is at all possible.

Since the tank is relativly shallow i was hoping i could possibly avoid having to buy MH or even T5 but thats where i need some advice.

I have the choices narrowed to a few I will list below but obviously i am open to any suggestions you may have for me...

without further adu (don't think thats how that is spelled correctly :D) here are my choices:

48" Orbit 4x65 watt SunPaq w/ Lunar Light
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=CU-ORBIT48&Category_Code=currentusa

Finnex 47" HO T5 Fixture - 6 Bulb x 54w Complete
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=FI-TL-T4854&Category_Code=Finnex-T5

Sunlight Tek Light T5 Hood - 48" x 4 bulb
http://www.premiumaquatics.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=SL-960035&Category_Code=SunlightT5

and finally...

48 in SunPod HQI Metal Halide Fixtures with Lunar Lights
http://www.drsfostersmith.com/Product/Prod_Display.cfm?pcatid=13975&N=2004+113352

I also forgot to add that I am in a rental house with quite a ***** of a landlord so I have to get a fixture that can use mouting legs. I will not be able to hang anything from the ceiling so all pendent lighting is out... Also I am skeptical about the Tek T5 hood because i read on some forums here that not only are the mounting legs for this like $75, but they are also crap....