PDA

View Full Version : generating your own juice

thorsen
06/30/2006, 04:56 PM
I'm still a student and thus too poor and too unstable as far as where I live to set up and invest in a really terrific tank, but I have this distant dream of somedaying settling down on a little spot and setting up my own hydroelectric thingy, or solar, or wind, so I can generate all the electricity my heart desires (and that's a lot). Then I'll run so many metal halides you will be able to see my house from space. I've eyed different tanks on display in RC, but never have I seen anyone who has done this. Anyone know of anyone who has? By the way, I just want to give fair warning that this future tank of mine with it's private electrical plant will one day be tank of the month in here. Watch for it.

old salty
07/01/2006, 06:31 AM
Well, for hydroelectric, you would need a source of flowing water (a river or creek), for solar, you need lots of sun (Cali is a good place to start), and wind - well you need wind.

Generating electricity is easy, but not necessarily cheap. I think the cheapest way to go would be to purchase a diesel powered generator and run it on biodiesel that you produce from used cooking oil.

slothguy
07/01/2006, 06:54 AM
I know of something you will hear about in the next 6 months or so that will revolutionize the electrical industry... your dream isn't far off. Wait and watch!

Beenalongtime79
07/01/2006, 07:04 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7663052#post7663052 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by slothguy
I know of something you will hear about in the next 6 months or so that will revolutionize the electrical industry... your dream isn't far off. Wait and watch!

I knew it... Cold fusion isn't just a wild man's dream anymore!!! Hahaha

BeanAnimal
07/01/2006, 07:27 AM
A few notes folks...

Firstly "biodiesel" is a joke. Lets pondwer what will happen when everybody starts consuming used cooking oil for fuel.