PDA

View Full Version : auto top off


murfman
07/03/2006, 07:32 PM
who is running an auto top off system from downstairs to upstairs? how did you calculate what size pump you needed to push the water? What did you use for your calculations?

reefkoi
07/03/2006, 07:58 PM
I used a kent solenoid connected to the RO unit in the basement pushed up through the floor with 1/4" tubing connected to a kent float valve in the sump about 15 feet away. I did this for 5 years with the same parts, nothing leaked and nothing ever flooded out or wore out any parts on the unit. I now have all the same stuff hooked up to my 600. Its the easiest way I have found to do the job.
Chris

Deuce67
07/03/2006, 07:58 PM
You can use this calculator Paul.

Head Loss (http://reefcentral.com/calc/hlc2.php)