PDA

View Full Version : Clowns fighting all of the sudden, dont know why

djk1
07/06/2006, 06:05 AM
I have a 55 gallon reef tank with 2 Ocellaris Clownfish(tank raised) and a sunk clown along with 2 tangs 4 chromis. The clowns were one of the first fish in the tank thats 5 months old now. All of the sudden last week the bigger of the two clowns started getting very aggresive with the smaller clown. Is this normal or is there a problem? What could i do about it

djk1
07/06/2006, 05:05 PM
anyone?

bllfish
07/06/2006, 05:35 PM
I had the same problem. I had 2 true percula clowns for five years. They were breeding every two weeks. Then one day the larger one just kept attacking the smaller one and finally killed it. I have no idea what happened.

bertoni
07/06/2006, 05:42 PM
If they were both juveniles, they might just be fighting over which one is going to be the female. That's fairly normal, I think. I would suggest checking in the clownfish forum, though, since I'm no expert.

Responding to your own post takes you off the unanswered list, BTW.

55semireef
07/06/2006, 05:48 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7689276#post7689276 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by djk1
I have a 55 gallon reef tank with 2 Ocellaris Clownfish(tank raised) and a sunk clown along with 2 tangs 4 chromis. The clowns were one of the first fish in the tank thats 5 months old now. All of the sudden last week the bigger of the two clowns started getting very aggresive with the smaller clown. Is this normal or is there a problem? What could i do about it

Just like bertoni said, its pretty common but these are not juvis. You have one large female and a smaller male. Part of the deal of having two clownfish paired up is the female every now and then will be aggressive towards the male. This is a way for her to keep the smaller male in check. To reassure her dominance.

Check this out.

http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?threadid=215098

RFC
07/06/2006, 07:40 PM