PDA

View Full Version : help /w Canon PowerShot Pro1 - please :)

ZURCSREEF
07/24/2006, 09:44 PM
I just got a canon powershot pro1 camera. I currently do not have a tri-pod for it (I know its very necessary in order to take good, still macro's, will get one some time this week). I was wondering if anyone could help me get my settings straight or just even how to do it as I am a totally noob and lost cause when it comes to cameras. If anyone has any experience with this camera and thinks they can help me please post as I would greatly appreciate it.

If this helps, I have a 125g sps tank with 2-400w 15k XM halides and 4-110w VHO Super Actinics. I would like to be able to take clear macros, get a pretty clear picture for full tank shots and try to get the colors on target.

Thanks in advance,
-Mike C.

gregr
07/25/2006, 08:23 AM
Start with shooting in RAW format so you can adjust the white balance on the computer. XM bulbs in particular are very challenging for any camera because they are so blue, so it's quite possible the camera won't be able to get accurate results in auto mode. You can try doing a manual white balance- that might work too.
Take a look at the
sticky thread (http://reefcentral.com/forums/showthread.php?s=&threadid=333197) at the top of the forum- there are some excellent articles/threads on basic photography technique- that should get you started in the right direction. Best way to improve your pics is to learn how the camera works.
And in the mean time- you should be able to take decent pics in auto mode and then once you gain some knowledge you can fine-tune your adjustments in aperture and manual exposure modes.

ZURCSREEF
07/25/2006, 08:35 AM
I appreciate the response. Will definately check into the sticky thread. As far as the XM's being blue, they actually aren't. A 400w 15k bulb burns pretty white.

-Mike C.

gregr
07/25/2006, 08:46 AM