PDA

View Full Version : Here I go.

Reefplus1
08/04/2006, 06:40 PM
Hi all. I am very new to the hobby and became very intrigued with reef tanks . been on a mission for almost a year.
The pieces are all finally coming together and I am psyched. Only problem is I dont't really know all that much and jumped in to this project no holds barred.
Here is what I have right now which leads me to my first ? bout cycling.

I have a 72 g reef ready bowfront tank. I was lucky enough to get a Kent Maximma Ro unit 65 lbs LR from my stepbrothers established tank for a decent price.
So I added three 40 lb bags or Caribsea aragonite to the RO water. I only filled the tank a little below the top, have 3 maxi jet 1200's in. Salinity is 1.23. Tank is very Hot here in NYC. Today tank hit 88. has been steady 80-83. ???Cant afford chiller..
But tank looks good so far. Water is clear and rocks look ok. I got 1 piece LR from lfs and threw it in also. that one is a lil' green. So it has been 3.5 weeks. I figure I am amost at end of cycle. Problem is I tested for amm/nitites tonite w/ Ocean Master test and vial did not change color at all. Amm was a lighter pink then chart and nitrite was clear. Supposed to turn green for test. I read instructions but it didn,t seem to work for me.

Well I hope this makes some sense. I guess I will get sump running in a few days and wait another week or two before i do water change and add critters.
I have alot of stuff but still no skimmer. I'm hoping to get it soon.
I would like the ASM G2 but I don't think it will fit in my sump. I have an Amiracle SL series 350 i think.
Keep in mind I had never heard of any of this stuff untill I purchased the tank with stand and filter on ebay for $240 bucks. SCORE!!
any suggestions would be awesome.

I am kind of stuck as what to do next. Any suggestions is appreciated. I am only worried that my tank is that high temp during cycle.

cwegescheide
08/04/2006, 06:49 PM