PDA

View Full Version : New Fish Room

Dyceskynes
08/08/2006, 12:02 PM
I talked the wife in letting me have a fish room but I am not sure where to start. I have some experience with the nano tanks but nothing on a larger scale. The room is about 140 inches by 66 inches. I am planning an inwall setup around 120 gallons. I would like to have mangrove trees in the sump so how large would I need to go. I also want to have a decent size fuge maybe 20-30 gallons or so. I have seen a few people go with a rubbermaid stock tank for the sump and have thought about going this route but don't have too much information on it.

As far as the tank is concerned would it be work it to go with something like an aga with the overflows already installed or to do it youself. I have heard about a few people putting foam under their tanks for support but have not been able to search to find the reason for this.

I will have to run power and water to this room which I don't think would be too complex.

I would like to hear suggestions of what to do with this space or links to where I may find out more info to help with these decisions.

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/63933fishroom.jpg

Thanks, Matt

bertoni
08/09/2006, 02:08 PM
The mangrove area can be as big as you want. You'll have to trim the trees to keep them inside their space. I'd probably plan on a couple of feet of vertical space. I'd go with the built-in overflows, but DIY probably is possible. The DIY forum might be useful there.

The foam is to allow the tank to settle and be very flat. The theory is that the foam conforms to level out any irregularities in the stand.

MCary
08/09/2006, 04:14 PM