PDA

View Full Version : Filters

dtbradly
08/10/2006, 08:55 AM
I am fairly new to the hobby, but i am new to the forum scene and i am seeing a lot of different information. I know that live rock is the very best biological filtration. But i have read many places that a trickle filter is more harmful than good. Is this true?

Avi
08/10/2006, 09:07 AM
The most common and current ideas about "trickle" filters is that they will generate nitrates and so could have an effect on your reef. The common wisdom, though some people do it successfully in other ways, is to have sufficient live rock and a very good quality protein skimmer.

sir_dudeguy
08/10/2006, 09:13 AM
imo yes a wet/dry (or as you called it a trickle) filter can do more harm...yes, it will still break down amonia into nitrite and nitrite into nitrates, but nitrates can easily build up in them...if you have a wet dry already i'd take out the bioballs (this is what causes the nitrate problem). however that will probably make a bunch of bubles pass back into the tank, so put a bunch of live rock in place of it...that will filter more, and stop the bubbles, but the live rock wont create the nitrates.

dtbradly
08/10/2006, 09:16 AM
Ok, i have a 29g tank, that is just about done cycling. I have a SeaClone protein Skimmer which seems to work very well (judging by the cup). Would i be better off getting more live rock and some powerheads than using my filter? That would give me some mechanical and some biological, what do i do about chemical, do i need it. Also, i have a power filter, sorry. Just trying to get my tank setup as best as possible. I would also enjoy a less crowded background if i got rid of the filter.

sir_dudeguy
08/10/2006, 09:24 AM