PDA

View Full Version : Livestock list for 180. Please comment

ReefJerk
08/10/2006, 09:59 AM
Here is a list of fish I am considering for stocking a 180. Please post comments. Thanks.

Yellow Tang
Hippo Tang
Copperband Butterfly
Sixline Wrasse
2 False Percs
Coral Beauty
5 Lori's Anthias or 5 Flasher Wrasse
3 Pearly Jawfish
Achilles Tang

The first 7 fish are what I have in my 90 now. I am leaning toward not getting another tang, but the Achilles would be the one that I want if I get another. Also, I have no experience with flasher wrasses or any anthias, so anyone with any advice, please chime in. Thanks.

Cliff

COreefer
08/10/2006, 10:39 AM
a school of flashers or anthias would be cool. I'm not familiar with Lori's anthias, but the Lyretails are awesome...from what I have read about them it's reccomended to keep group of 8 for a supermale to develop.

I think your list is pretty good...lot of activity. Try to add the jawfish first though, and let let them get established for a few days/weeks before adding everything else.

ReefJerk
08/10/2006, 10:46 AM
The Lori's is also known as the Tiger Anthias. I wanted to get the smallest species that I could find that aren't deep-water type. Right now, I am looking at the Lyretails and Threadfins as well. So far, the lyretails are the biggest species that I've considered, but they seem to be more readily available than the tigers, so I'll see. I am trying to find a male Tiger to introduce with/after the females, but again, noone that I've checked with can give me any availability for the species, let alone a male.

racer69
08/10/2006, 11:10 AM
I keep lyretail's in my 180, and they are great. Only the male gets bigger, and that is only about 3". The females stay relatively small. You will probably want to wait a while on the achilles tang. They are a very hard fish to keep and really need an established tank. I have a powder blue tang that was in captivity for 2 years and they are not as hard to keep as achilles.