PDA

View Full Version : aquapod question


DylanE
08/14/2006, 03:40 PM
i have a 24g aquapod, a slight nitrate problem... i was wondering what it was, but recently heard that sponge filters can cause nitrates(the stock aquapod filter is a sponge filter) . is that true? if it is what can i replace it with?

HAMsmith
08/14/2006, 06:53 PM
True story, ditch the sponge.

You can do lots of things...

Live rock rubble

Add a light and some chaeto = instant refugium

Various chemical filtration devices

Personally I have live rock rubble on the bottom and I cut the sponge into small blocks that are just large enough to hold up some floss and a bag of carbon. I swap out my filter block with a clean one each week.

DylanE
08/15/2006, 02:15 AM
how would i get a light to focus on the tiny little place?

HAMsmith
08/15/2006, 08:01 AM
Some cut the plastic off the back in the area which will contain the chaeto and shine a light into the back chamber from the outside. Others use a small submersible light.

mister crabs
08/15/2006, 01:24 PM
u can get a small clip on desk fand and put a powercompact bulb from wally world over it if u wanna ditch the cover over that part. Or search for a submersible light if you dont want to lose the hood like ham said

DylanE
08/15/2006, 01:35 PM
sounds like a plan!

july865
08/16/2006, 11:09 PM
dont forget to reverse the light cycle. ie: main light on, fuge light off. then visa-versa. keeps ph (from swinging)