PDA

View Full Version : Ca reactor needed? Kalk drip okay?

JJohn
08/14/2006, 08:28 PM
Thanks in advance for answering a beginner's question from a fairly old hand. I have a long established 75G mixed reef that I am slowly converting to SPS dominated. This is somewhat new territory for me. The most SPS I have had in my tank was two colonies before I made the decision to change. My water quality is fine, flow is good, lighting is pretty good and my results have been very pleasing... so far. All my new frags have grown very fast and have pretty good color and great PE.

Now the question: as things grow, will I need a Ca reactor. I have been using Kalkwasser for many years, all my top-off water is added with Kalk. Will this be sufficient in the future? I have limited room for any additional equipment so if I can avoid a reactor it would be great.

Thanks,
John

murphreef
08/14/2006, 08:33 PM
u can away with daily dosing with a 2 part addative like B-Ionic

but if u get really into sps a CA reactor IMO is the best way to handle the load....

i used to do the addatives on my old 100 but when i set up my new 180 i went with the reactor and my life has been much easier since then ;)

JJohn
08/14/2006, 08:47 PM
With a small 75G, I was hoping the Ca load would be low enough that I could handle it with Kalk. I have never used two-part additives. I will research that option as well. Thanks for the advice. I just don't have any room/space for a Ca Reactor although the thought of a semi-automated solution is very appealling.

John

jiggly75
08/14/2006, 08:54 PM
I dripped kalk as my replenishment water in my 90 gallon sps tank for years. The only problem i had was trimming my corals! I do agree with murphreef i upgraded to a 180 also, and use a geo calcium reactor. It does make things easier.

acropora nut
08/14/2006, 08:56 PM
Reactor all the way... A lot less work once you are set up.

JJohn
08/14/2006, 09:08 PM