PDA

View Full Version : Are the new Rio pumps bad too?

Wiskey
08/16/2006, 11:10 PM
I have a skimmer that uses a old style (not UL listed) Rio 1700 W/ a needle wheel impeller, I like the skimmer, but the oil spill chance makes me loose sleep. I would like to replace it with the new style Rio and use my needle-wheel impeller on it to avoid this chance, but:

Do the new UL listed Rio's still have this problem? When they fail do they also dump oil in your tank, or electrocute you? Do they have any other problems?

Thanks,
Whiskey

The Grim Reefer
08/16/2006, 11:43 PM
The "oil spill" stories are just that. There is no oil in the pumps. I cut one in half to see that for myself. I know of a couple people that were shocked by older Rio pumps when the power cord seal broke. Getting the UL listed pump probably wouldn't be a bad idea.

IsaaX
08/17/2006, 03:16 AM
Just to make you feel better, I've been using a 1700 as a return on my 40g for 6 yrs now and is still running strong. It's not the UL listed one either. I wouldn't drag the pump by the cord just to be on the safe side. On my new 90g I'm using a 2100+ which is UL listed.

Wiskey
08/17/2006, 09:59 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7956000#post7956000 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by The Grim Reefer
The "oil spill" stories are just that. There is no oil in the pumps. I cut one in half to see that for myself. I know of a couple people that were shocked by older Rio pumps when the power cord seal broke. Getting the UL listed pump probably wouldn't be a bad idea.

Interesting, I've seen hundeds of reports of these pumps creating an oil slick on people's tanks when they fail, I just figured they did. I myself had a old Rio 2500 blow up on me, it didn't make a oil slick, but it did get the tank 6 deg hotter in 2 hours.

Thanks for your input,
Whiskey

Wiskey
08/17/2006, 10:02 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7956336#post7956336 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by IsaaX