PDA

View Full Version : snails wont stay ailve

68ss396
08/19/2006, 07:56 AM
I have another post explaining how I have an algea and coral problem. What i forgot is that I also put a dozel snails in a mont ago. They all died within a week so I removed them all. I cant figure what is happening. all of the fish are great.

divecj5
08/19/2006, 08:05 AM
I saw your other thread as well and from what it sounds like, all of your params seem to be in order. The only thing that I've heard and read is that any major dips or spikes in pH and NH3 can have a detrimental effect on snails and hermits. I'd be interested to hear what others have to say though as I'm still new to this myself.

Adam

68ss396
08/19/2006, 08:11 AM
My ph was low at 7.8 and raised to 8.3 while trate dropped from 20 to 8-9. I realize that sudden jumps are not the best thing in the world but was necessary at the time. The big thing concearning me is the dying corals. there has to be a connection I cannot find that would attack corals, snails and allow algea groth that I simply cant find in a water test.

clutch
08/19/2006, 08:23 AM
any fish? snails just don't die they pretty hardy. What kind of snails. Shot in the dark do you have grounding probe to tank never know my friend went through the same thing. He had 32 volts running the water once probed it it was all fine after his spikes settled down also. The main problem is that he had a cheap heater which was leaking stray voltage in the tank.

68ss396
08/19/2006, 08:26 AM
I do have a grounding probe in the sump below. fish include 2 oscelaris clowns, a sand goby, coral beauty, and 7 damsels. all of them are great. I didi lose my yellow tang to stress though when I did an all out attack on the algea two weeks ago and finished with a 20% change. unfortunatley she got very stressed I assume from how cloudy the tank got during cleaning.

clutch
08/19/2006, 08:31 AM