PDA

View Full Version : external pump with no bulkhead

platax88
08/22/2006, 10:02 AM
Hello ... Is there any way to hook up an external pump without a drilled bulkhead on the sump. the pump is a Pan World 200 (1750 GPH) ... I was thinking of a something like this:

http://www.jb-portfolio.com/90_reef/no_bulkhead.gif

Thanks!

DaveBrader
08/22/2006, 10:17 AM
that will work just fine, I have been running an external pump like that for a couple of years...

Dave

h20cooled
08/22/2006, 10:17 AM
It would be hard to keep it primed, if power goes out and then comes back on it would most likely have to be re-primed and if you were not there you could burn up the pump. Not a good idea in my opinion.

Why not just drill the sump?

DaveBrader
08/22/2006, 10:18 AM
Once it is primed, it will stay primed unless one end gets open to air, out of water. If both ends remain underwater, it will not lose prime...

Dave

platax88
08/22/2006, 10:25 AM
yeah but if both ends remain underwater wont it siphon my display tank during a power outage... put a check valve on the returns?????

comatose
08/22/2006, 10:30 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7988609#post7988609 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by platax88
yeah but if both ends remain underwater wont it siphon my display tank during a power outage... put a check valve on the returns?????

NO! if both ends are under water what goes in one tube must come out the other end even in a power outage, you'll lose no water, it's a closed loop as long as both ends stay under water during a power outage.

No need for a check valve.

ambaratur
08/22/2006, 11:03 AM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=7988650#post7988650 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by comatose
NO! if both ends are under water what goes in one tube must come out the other end even in a power outage, you'll lose no water, it's a closed loop as long as both ends stay under water during a power outage.

No need for a check valve.