PDA

View Full Version : Is 1/2" ply good enough for 6' canopy?

ambaratur
08/22/2006, 03:57 PM
My stand is finished and the 125g tank is on it - but now I need to build the canopy.

I have never built one before but I think I have most of it figured out. My question however is if 1/2" plywood is going to be good enough for the main pieces.

It will only be about 7" tall because I intend to use T5 lighting. I will finish the inside with a good primer and several coats of exterior grade semi-gloss paint. (Same paint I used inside the stand.) The exterior will be sealed and painted black.

Will the 6' run of plywood be protected from warping if I make sure it is sealed well?

Thanks for any input.

-Amb

smcdonn
08/22/2006, 04:32 PM
I don't know if I would use plywood but that is just me. A 6' span of plywood I feel is sure to warp with the water and the heat no matter how well you seal it. Cheers

ambaratur
08/22/2006, 04:35 PM
Then would you recommend a solid piece of 3/4 pine or something?

drauka99
08/22/2006, 04:49 PM
you could "rib" the underside of the plywood to help keep it from warping. I would prob go for the solid pine but if $ is an issue then do the ribing and it should be ok

ambaratur
08/22/2006, 04:54 PM
Money is not the issue - and pine boards are not terribly expensive. For some reason I was thinking the solid wood would be more likely to warp than the plywood.

bassnman11
08/22/2006, 06:16 PM
I use 3/4 oak plywood for my hoods. I edge band the plywood with solid oak. I use kilz and gloss white exterior enamel on the interior and minwax poly on the outside. Your other option is build a skeleton of pine and cover with 1/4 plywood.

ambaratur
08/23/2006, 08:21 AM
Wow - that seems like the canopy would weigh a ton if done with 3/4. Does the tank support that much weight. I do have a glass tank.

20 20
08/23/2006, 08:35 AM