PDA

View Full Version : No

FishNutzBoi
08/24/2006, 03:32 PM
I had a mimic tang a month ago. It was eating fine (daily feeding of algae sheets, mysis, formula 1 pellets, brine shrimps). For some weird reason, it was getting really skinny and died after a month being in my tank. I got a powder brown tang 2 weeks ago. I daily feed it with algae sheets; garlic soaked mysis, formula 1 pellets, formula 2 flakes, formula 1 frozen. It eats just fine and its stomach seems full after every feeding. Unfortunately... I don't know WHY!?!?!?! It is getting really skinny, just like how my mimic tang was before it died. I only noticed its skinniness this afternoon. Please help! What's wrong with my tang? How can i help it?

TIA!

nmprisons
08/24/2006, 03:36 PM
some thoughts, but i am no expert:

Your tank might be too small to really keep these fish happy. On the reef, they forage all day long on algae. In a 75 gallon tank there just may not be enough of the kind of stuff they need to eat in order to stay healthy available to them. I would suggest making sure that your tangs always have something to eat in the tank (nori may work here or leafy greens on a clip).

petoonia
08/24/2006, 03:41 PM
I agree, if the tank is too small the tang may be really stressed. They usually like alot of space to swim in!

Good Luck!

FishNutzBoi
08/24/2006, 03:45 PM
I keep algae sheets in my tank all day long. I feed twice daily - once w/ garlic soaked formula 1 and 2 then 4 hours later, i feed them w/ garlic soaked mysis and cycloopfreeze

hopper
08/24/2006, 03:51 PM
What kind of temps are your tank kept at and have you checked your water parameters lately?

Billybeau1
08/24/2006, 03:53 PM
Could be internal parasites. Try soaking all his food in garlic for a little while and see if he improves.

FishNutzBoi
08/24/2006, 04:01 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8005893#post8005893 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by hopper