PDA

View Full Version : Aquatic Critter??

rfman81
08/28/2006, 03:34 PM
Hello,
I am new to Nashville and also a noob in reefing. Still in the information collection stage. Can anyone give me advice on Aquatic Critter? I have been there several times and I am looking for you who frequent there.
I noticed that the last meet was there and they gave away some nice stuff.
1.) Is the service good?
2.) Is the stock good qaulity? Seems good quality I spent 1 hour just looking at the fish for any signs of stress and ich? Some did seemed stressed but I guess that is usual?
3.) Prices seems sorta high but not sure maybe just normal?
4.) Is the advice given good? Who should I avoid and who should I speak to?

Thank you so much,
I am excited to start a reef tank and still have several more months to go before I get one but I want to know as much as possible including if I can count on LFS advice.

greystreet41
08/28/2006, 04:07 PM
they and Emerald Bay are the only shows in town.
Yes, I think you'd be hard pressed to find any retail shop without some unhealthy fish--especially since they display their fish upon arrival. They are really good about letting you "hold" a fish to see if it's okay for a few to several days depending on the circumstances. As for prices, kinda high IMO, but as is the hobby as a whole.
As for specific people to deal with--best to draw your own conclusions. I have my few favorites and I have a few not so favorites, but my list would likely differ from someone else's.
good luck!

gflat65
08/28/2006, 04:33 PM
I agree. If you can find either of the Chris' or Ken, your in good hands. I don't know most of the rest of them well enough to give any pointers. I usually do a whirlwind tour through there (something usually has to really stand out for me to stop and stare and think about purchasing-too much stuff already;)). they don't Qt (no one in this area does), so it si not all to uncommon to see a few stressed fish. They do take care of their store, though.