PDA

View Full Version : help

Brandon's Reef
08/30/2006, 08:24 AM
I've purchased a 24 gallon aquapod with the 150 watt halide. The problem is I took out all of the filters that came with the aquapod and put a coralife 65 on the back section. There are such high amounts of Micro-bubbles I cant see the back of the tank. Is anyone else having this problem or knows how to fix it? Its very annoying after all this money I'm putting into it I thought I was doing everything right. Im not new to aquariums I've been working at a saltwater specialty store for around 2 years and was manager at one time. I've owned countless tanks mostly sps reefs and I absolutely HATE microbubbles any and all help would be appreciated.

sir_dudeguy
08/30/2006, 08:42 AM
the skimmer takes like a week or so to break in. During the break in they put out a ton, but they're sposed to stop (to a certain point) after break in.

Brandon's Reef
08/30/2006, 06:48 PM
have you ever owned one? ive owned countless skimmers deltecs, remoras, coralife 125 ect....but none of them ever put out this much? should i just let it run i was goin to put a filter sock on the end of it?

Brandon's Reef
08/30/2006, 06:50 PM
im not trying to be crotchety but ive owned this kind of skimmer before and it never was this bad. Now im aware of the initial break in point but the question wasnt about the bubble more of how to fix them you know like put a certain type of filter pad in a certain place or what not, if you understand what im asking that would be excellent. Just trying to get some advice from some people that have had experience with this tank and this problem.
Thank you,
Brandon Fields

sir_dudeguy
08/30/2006, 09:47 PM
yes i own 2 skimmers, one being a css 65 and the other being the remora, both of which are known for giving lots of bubbles during break in especiallly.