PDA

View Full Version : nano cube

fishnut321
08/30/2006, 06:10 PM
has anyone tried a clown/anemone pair in a 12 gallon nano cube? The nano cube has 48 watts of pc alittle above a foot from the bottom of the tank.... would that be enough for a bubble tip anemone??? Im a college student so i cant afford a high quality lighting system.... any response will be appreciated, thanks!

bluerug
08/30/2006, 06:12 PM
It sure would be, here is my tank, the exact same as yours.
http://i83.photobucket.com/albums/j281/blue_carpet/anemone012.jpg

bluerug
08/30/2006, 06:14 PM
Got a little hair algae problem but i am working on that right now as we speak. Just ordered some nassarius snails, cucumber, crabs,etc. Time to stock back up on the good old cleaning crew.

jjackson
08/30/2006, 08:16 PM
or stock down on # of fish..../feeding

but nice looking RBTA's

bluerug
08/30/2006, 08:22 PM
Thank you.

ezhoops
08/30/2006, 08:43 PM
Hair algae usually equals high phosphate

only4fudge
08/31/2006, 01:50 AM
veggie tangs eat it right up, mine never stop nibbling on anything algae.

Goodluck to you, and very nice RBTAs, did they clone?

jjackson
08/31/2006, 08:34 AM
yeah lets put a tang in the nano cube, that would be GREAT... I dont think they cloned he put two bags into the tank when he first got them.

nickterp
08/31/2006, 03:05 PM
fishnut321, the lighting is ok for a tank that size, but you should consider the size of the tank for the anemone. Most will advise you not to do this in that size tank. Bluecarpet mentioned in another thread that he had a plan for when his outgrew the tank.

Just consider if its worth the hassle or not and what your plan might be once it outgrows the tank.

Common advice, especially from good sites like this: http://www.wetwebmedia.com/btasysfaqs.htm always advise against BTA's in small tanks.

You have some exprience so that is definitely good, but my advice is wait until you can get that nicer lighting system in a bigger tank. Good luck!

OrionN