PDA

View Full Version : Lighting causing Green Hair Algae?

lakee911
09/06/2006, 09:08 PM
Hello,
I've been battling green hair algae now for a couple of months. It seems to have started when I changed to new bulbs. After getting a lot of brown algae (diatoms?) on the glass, I changed my bulbs (one bulb one week, one the next). I'm currently and have always run two 40W Coralife 50/50 bulbs over the tank. They were on for 14.5 hours/day and I've cut that down to 13hours/day (9A to 10P). I run a Felt Electric Enhance 6400K 18W Compact Flourescent in a Regent/Cooper Lighting FNF26PC Bronze Fixture for my fuge where I have some mangroves and chaeto and culurpa macro algae and a DSB. I had an el cheapo lamp down there up until about 2 weeks ago and this new light

I'd been plagued with high nitrates for a long time (80-120ppm), then down to 40ppm for maybe the past 6months, but seems to be getting down to around 20ppm lately. Phosphates virtually undetectable. Nitrite 0, Ammonia 0. Temp 79-80.

I use RO/DI water (TDS:0) for topoff and for water changes. I change 20-30gal monthly.

I've got an AquaC EV-120 skimmer. It doesn't seem to pull much these days since adding the macro and mangroves. I don't do much mechanical filteration other than filter sponge on the overflow--clean at least weekly.

120Gal (actual capacity) FOWLR w/ crush coral and RDSB (in fuge/sump). 100+lb live rock. Moorish Idol, Coral Beauty, Two Chromis, Watchman Goby, Two cleaner shrimp, many astraea snails and hermit crabs, couple of rather largish feather dusters.

Any ideas? I've scrubbed off the live rock with a soft bristle brush and collected as much as I could, but it just keeps on coming back.

I don't think feeding is a result (Frozen Mysis Shrimp & Angel/Butterfly food, Flake Formula 1, 2, Spirulina and Brine shrimp).

Fish have lost a little weight as of lately since I've been feeding once daily instead of twice. I think if anything I'm underfeeding. No change in GHA.

What to do?

Thanks,