PDA

View Full Version : aiptasia RIP!!!

triciod
09/14/2006, 01:21 AM
I have a 24gal nano cube with about 10lbs live rock. Anyways, this live rock contained some aiptasia on it. As im new to reef keeping, i didn't think much of it. Long story short, these buggers started to spread all over. Remedying the situation i stopped at the LFS and picked up "Joe's Juice" This stuff freak'n ROCKS. The box says "works in minutes"...lol they aren't kidding! I watched them do the death tango for about five minutes, until they shrank in little blobs. I was talking to the own of the LFS and he guided me to buy a Peppermint Shrimp to keep the aiptasia down...apparently they eat them. Is this true about this species of shrimp???

Vegas RN
09/14/2006, 01:35 AM
hit or miss is what i heard.

jdieck
09/14/2006, 01:49 AM
It will come back :D

BristlewormKing
09/14/2006, 05:13 AM
In most cases, the aiptasia will return. Your best longterm investment is to buy some berghia nudibranches. They don't harm any corals, and usually stay outta sight until night. Every tank I have has at least three berghias in there somewhere. On occasion, I even spot a coil of eggs or a baby or two they have produced (which I catch and use for new LR deliveries). The shrimp is also an option, but I think there are some corals or softies they are fond of also (please don't quote me on that - but, I thought I read that somewhere when I first investigated getting rid of the aiptasia). The berghias are small so they are actually able to crawl inside the rock crevices and get to the little aipatsia sprouts.

triciod
09/14/2006, 07:02 AM
I thought i read somewhere that nudibanch are a creature that are best avoided in the marine aquarium. I believe that the idea was that nudibanch aren't so hardy. What do you make of this?

triciod
09/14/2006, 07:03 AM
How much should i expect a nudibanch to cost?

theop
09/14/2006, 07:19 AM