PDA

View Full Version : Ways to move H2O

ManfromAtlantis
09/23/2006, 11:28 PM
Hi,
I am somewhat new to SW tanks. I have had a 30 gallon for about 1 year. Converted my 55 gallon to SW about 3 months ago. I used most of the live rock, sand, etc. out of my 30 to convert the 55g. Anyway, I had left live sand and a couple of live rocks in the 30g so that I would still have a 2nd established tank.
Today I found two (Black) captive breed seahorses at my LFS. Well, I just had to have them..:D And since the 30 was already set up and water levels all checked out I went for it.

My question is if you don't run a skimmer, (read on here today that I shouldn't).

Question #1.What do you use for water flow??? I had some small power heads running, but one of them got stuck to the intake, so I unplugged them. Now I have no water movement at all unless I run the skimmer..

Question #2. Just how much flow do these guys like? None? Some? Fast? Tide pool type movement?

Question #3. If they do in fact like current and skimmer = bad.
What are you guys using???? Thanks for your time..

ManfromAtlantis
09/23/2006, 11:36 PM
BTW: Here is a bad pic. Water is still foggy from moving things around and adding the new long live rock for them to have a branch type hangout.. Thanks

http://reefcentral.com/gallery/data/500/135559SH1.jpg

Fredfish
09/24/2006, 06:12 AM
I use a maxijet powerhead with a large filter basket over the intake. There is not enough flow at the intake to cause any problems.

I don't know that horses actually need any flow, but they do not shy away from the areas in my tank where there is water flow. I like some flow in my tank just to keep O2/CO2 exchange going at the water surface.

You could also simply bubble a little air using ridgid airline.

Fred

JennyL
09/24/2006, 08:06 AM
Hi James,

"Black" is not a species. You need to know what species you have in order to provide the proper tank conditions.