PDA

View Full Version : Am I dosing too much?

Limpit
09/26/2006, 11:06 PM
After a pretty long period of checking nothing but salinity I decided to test my water for several things tonight.
Here is what I got:
Alk-5.37, 15.0 DKH
Calcium- 580
Magnesium- 1320
PH- 8.3
Salinity- 1.026

I have been using two part Calcium / Alk for several months
and I have to admit, doing regular water testing is something that I fail to do on a regular basis.
I do make weekly water changes though and mix the water up at 1.025 and also have an auto top off on the tank.

Here is my question, am I dosing too much of the A/B? I am using the basic instructions on the bottles. Should I cut back?

I have also been noticing some small bleaching patches on some of my SPS as of a week or two.

What would you recommend?

Thanks

outy
09/27/2006, 12:35 AM
you are adding too much 1 + 2

you need to test more

i like alk to be 3.6 and ca rite at 400

you can let the levels fall on there own or do a water change. your alk is very high

Limpit
09/27/2006, 09:21 AM
I will do several small water changes over the next couple of days to get help bring the levels down and stop dosing during that time also.
And yes, I do need to get into the habit of testing on a regular basis.
Thanks

Limpit
09/28/2006, 01:25 AM
Well tonight when I started to do a water change I tested the sea water before I put it in the tank and the Alk is still off the chart and the CA was at 390. I am starting to think it may be the water I am using (RO) that is causing the high Alk readings, or maybe the salt mix (IO Reef Crystals).
I will do a couple more tests tomorrow and see if I can narrow it down.
Any comments Randy?

JR719
09/28/2006, 01:29 AM
After you mix up a batch and let aerate, test it. See what you have to work with.

Randy Holmes-Farley
09/28/2006, 09:23 AM