PDA

View Full Version : Needing feedback on my setup

TankBusters
10/18/2006, 11:09 PM
Hi, I am new to ReefCentral but not the hobby. Ok, I have a 125 g. tank with single overflow that I split into to at the refugium, durso pipe and double returns. I am using a Trigger Systems refugium capable of 350 g. and Trigger Systems protein skimmer capable of 300 g. I have a mag drive 1200 powering the skimmer and a mag drive 1200 for return to tank. There is about 3-4" of reef grade sand in the tank and about 30 pounds of live rock in there and more to come. In the refugium I have nop miracle mud yet! There is about 15-20 pounds of live rock and different types of calurpa in there. I do a dry skim on the skimmer and run 60 watts of lighting in the refugium 24 hours a day. The tank houses a 12" banded shark, a 4" Dragon Wrasse and a blue devil (damsel) and 3 hermit crabs in the refugiumI am getting alot of red algea though and the slime algea remover (antibiotics) didnt do a very good job yet. Nitrites are 0 amonia 0 and nitrates are 15ppm. It has been running for about a month. Any suggestions on what I should do to cut the red algea? It has been about 2 years since I have had my first reef with refugium so any new info that has been somewhat proven would be appreciated. Below is an early picture of the ref and skimmer so you have an idea of what I am working with. My main concern is nitrates. I have 4 other systems-fresh and brackish and I have always had high nitrates. Thank you in advance for any info or changes I should make.

TankBusters
10/18/2006, 11:10 PM
Ok, hmmm... cannot post pics. Oh well. I hope I described my setup well enough.

TankBusters
10/29/2006, 10:54 PM
Ok... No interest?

reefgeek67
10/29/2006, 11:29 PM