PDA

View Full Version : Kent Nano A B to raise calcium in 120G

lakee911
11/03/2006, 10:42 AM
I'm worried about doing any large water changes at the moment--bacterial bloom recently due to lots of changes, one being 25% change last weekend.

However, my calcium is getting low, 310ppm.

Alkalinity: 8-9 dkH
Calcium: 310ppm
pH: 8-8.1

All I have at home is Kent Nano Part A and B and my tank is 120G! I think this is similiar to the Kent Tech CB stuff, but I do not know. What should I dose, rather how should I dose this stuff to get my calcium back up to snuff?

I'm new to the whole pH, Alkalinity, Calcium stuff and want to make sure I'm not overdosing something or underdosing.

Thanks!
Jason

Randy Holmes-Farley
11/03/2006, 11:45 AM
I don't know what could be special about a two part for nanos (marketing! :D ), but the calcium part of a two part is a fine way to raise calcium. Do not use the alkalinity part.

It won't have the nano, but the amounts for other two parts to use are in this calculator:

Reef chemicals calculator
http://home.comcast.net/~jdieck1/chem_calc3.html

lakee911
11/03/2006, 12:54 PM
Well, I'd imagine that it diluted because it requires, if I remember correctly, a 15 or 30mL dose for my tank if followed the bottle. It'd be one in a week!

What are the dosage instructions on the bottle of the Tech CB? Maybe they can be converted to "Nano" and I can use the calculator?

Thx
Jason

Randy Holmes-Farley
11/03/2006, 01:00 PM
The normal Kent Tec CB has 56,000 ppm calcium. Does yours give a concentration?

lakee911
11/03/2006, 07:25 PM
Yup, yup, if I convert the concentrations of part A I get the following....

Calcium: 1650mg/oz = 55 793mg/L
Magnesium: 75mg/oz = 2 536 mg/L
Strontium: 5.8mg/oz = 196mg/L
Potassium: 21.2 mg/oz = 717mg/L
Iron: .124mg/Oz = 4mg/L

Does this mean they are the same? My instructions say to use 1ml per 4 gallons.