PDA

View Full Version : Fungia Plate Coral Question (Pix)

carfac
11/10/2006, 08:44 AM
Hi:

I have a fungia, got it about a week and a half or so ago. Seemed healthy when I got it, as best as I can tell- color was strong, and tentacles extended pretty good.

Anyway, I have noticed the flesh seeming to "recede" on part of it, exposing the "skeleton". Or, at least that is how it looks to me. I am new to reefing, and even newer to this coral, so I do not know what to expect.

I posted this in the newbie forum (my home away from home!), and got just a bit of help- they suggested I try here. The one thing they said was to look at it at night.

I did, I did not see any more substantial tentacle extension (they seem about 1/4 inch out), but I saw a LOT more.

Of the fleshy area, it did seem to extent more; if, in this picture, about 1/3 shows receding, at night, I saw flesh around the whole thing.

So, I would like to know if his is normal. Is there anything I can do to help? I gave him a good shot of oyster eggs last night.

Params are all good and stable- CA 400-425, alk 3, sg 1.026, no phos, anm or nits...

Thanks!

Dave

http://www.animatedword.com/fungia.jpg

carfac
11/10/2006, 08:55 AM
SOrry, I forgot. This is in a Nano Cube, under regular PC's. I have had this tank since June, so I do not think the lights need to be replaced yet. This morning, it looks receded again. Obviously, it is placed low, on the sand, with a rock beneath to keep it from sinking into the sand.

As is my schedule, I did a 5 gal water change last night- I do this every Thursday (one of the reasons the tank is stable, I think). All other corals are doing great; I have a problem with coraline- Too Much! Zoos are spreading like crazy, Xenia does as expected- it is a weed. Frogspawn is massing, my brain has it moments, but when fully out, it is amazing- all indicators are the tank is healthy, and the corals like it there.