PDA

View Full Version : Reliable HOB overflows?

mr. bojangsjang
11/13/2006, 01:58 PM
Are there any HOB overflows that work 100% of the time? I want a sump for my glass tank but can't drill it myself nor have any glass place willing to drill it for me with a guarantee.

sjm817
11/13/2006, 02:56 PM
Its not hard to drill the tank yourself. If you do go HOB, the most reliable is a Lifereef (http://www.lifereef.com/siphon.html)

crispyreef
11/13/2006, 03:10 PM
I like CPR. You don't have to mess with the U-tube that lifereef uses.

DrHank
11/13/2006, 03:27 PM
I've been using a CPR for over 5 years without problems. I added a Duro to cut down on noise as well.

mr. bojangsjang
11/13/2006, 04:15 PM
What makes the lifereef ones so dependable? They look great but aren't they run with an air-pump like all the others?

Ironsheikh
11/13/2006, 04:50 PM
the u tube goes below the drain pipe so its supposed to restart siphon on power loss....

its pretty good I guess --I bought one but resold it cuz it was damaged during shipping, amiracle makes the same design, and so does pro clear -- they cost around $65 - 100

I have a hurricane overflow that im going to try cost about $40 but the acrylic is thinner -

sjm817
11/13/2006, 06:37 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8538125#post8538125 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by mr. bojangsjang
What makes the lifereef ones so dependable? They look great but aren't they run with an air-pump like all the others?