PDA

View Full Version : Please help

zma21
11/14/2006, 09:16 PM
Ok, I'm getting into the saltwater world soon with my 38 gallon. I know you guys might think that is too small, but it is what i feel is appropriate, and have no choice of upgrade in the near future.

I've been researching off and on for a couple months, and i still have no idea where to start.

I don't know all of the equipment that i need to purchase, and i don't know the basics to creating and maintaining a salt-water environment.

is there a web site that can help me out with my problem? If there is, i would greatly appreciate it. And also, any of your help would do me more help than you will know. Thanks in advance guys. Have a good night. :)

sir_dudeguy
11/14/2006, 09:22 PM
[welcome]

the first thing you should do...read thru Travis L. Stevens whole thread at the top area of this forum section...its called something like "so you want to start a marine aquarium" or something to that affect...it goes thru EVERYTHING one could possibly need when starting a new tank...i cant believe we couldnt get him to publish that as a book tho lol.

Avi
11/14/2006, 10:50 PM
For some more useful info...

www.melevsreef.com

zma21
11/15/2006, 10:04 PM
I read Travis's whole thread tonite. Took some good time, but I feel as if i'm almost ready.

One more question........do i really need a sump? I'll be performing over twice the filtration (80 gal for a 30) and will have excellent water flow. I'm going to add a single jet. Should that be enough?

CPT. MURPHY
11/15/2006, 10:28 PM
[welcome]

You don't have to have a sump but I would recommend an hob skimmer.

CPT.

woodstock '69
11/15/2006, 10:40 PM