PDA

View Full Version : To Aerate or not RO/DI

korbynlehr
11/17/2006, 06:10 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8303163#post8303163 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by Robs26reef
Well I just did some research and found out it is very important to aerate RO water before mixing the salt vigorously for 12-24 hrs before adding synthetic salt mix. RO/DI filters do there job very well. so well that the remove virtually all dissolved minerals and produces water that leans toward the soft, acidic side. Aeration helps increase the alkalinity. and in turn its ability to resist a change in pH in the presence of an acid-prior to mixing in the salt. if not aerated the buffers in the synthetic salt would be quickly used up. then your pH will be unstable. So I have been doing it wrong for 4 years now. nice to know.

Randy,
What is your take on the "proper" way to mix ro/di with our without aerate?

jdieck
11/17/2006, 08:51 PM
Randy is out for a while but let me try to check on that statement that IMO has a couple of assumptions that do not seem correct, first of all, RO/DI water has no buffering capacity at all as it does not contain any minerals, as such, it's PH is irrelevant because as soon as you add any buffer the PH will adjust.
Having said that O/DI water exposed to air will contain dissolved CO2 which may give the perception that it is acidic but as I mentioned without buffering capacity that is not an issue. Aereating the RO/DI water will increase the dissolved CO2, there is no way aereation alone can increase the water alkalinity as you need Bicarboante and Carbonate ions to do that and there are none in the air. (Well unless you leave next to a query that blasts 10 times a day and your air is so dust poluted that will add some of that :D)