PDA

View Full Version : Which Sebae is this? Malu or Crispa

OrionN
11/26/2006, 10:11 PM
Here are two poor pictures. I am not very good at it, but hope it will show the needed informations of a guess. What do you think?

http://www.reefland.com/gallery/files/1/3/1/6/IMG_5371_original.jpg

http://www.reefland.com/gallery/files/1/3/1/6/IMG_5366_original.jpg

Ron Popeil
11/26/2006, 11:34 PM
my guess is h. crispa.

i dont know if ive ever seen an anemone postively identified as h. malu, but here is why i would suggest h. crispa:

the (very faint) mottled coloration of the tentacles on the far right (in the upper photo). if youve seen alot of this species of anemone, youll be able to recognize it easily.

to me, ive always been under the impression that the mottled tentacle color is what gives the anemone that "leathery" appearance, and thus...heteractis crispa. plus, it just looks like all the other crispas ive seen, with the exception of the green tips vs the much more common purple tips.

OrionN
11/27/2006, 04:55 AM
I bought it because of the green tip. It is much greener than the picture show. It wedge itself in a corner there it only have room for an anemone 1/4 it's size to open.The tentacles seem much shorter than a usual Crispa. The length of the tentacles are different. Inner tentacles are smaller and shorter than outer. FWIW, the column is very soft and flimsy, not leathery at all.
I am setting up a tank for it and when this is done, I will post better picture in a few months. The tank need to cycles and age. He is dong well as is but will outgrow it soon.

raoul
11/27/2006, 10:22 AM
Sometimes it's hard to tell in pictures, but the color seems kind of light, like it's recovering from prior bleaching. If it had bleached, the tentacles seem to be shorter. As it recovers and gains it's color back, the tentacles grow longer and taper off. Could it be that's what's happening with yours?

Good luck with it, I don't think I've ever seen green tips before :)

phender