PDA

View Full Version : porcupine puffer food?

boxfishpooalot
12/10/2006, 01:35 PM
What do you feed your porcupine puffer? My girlfriend wanted one, and now im stuck trying to get it to eat.

So far it at 1 mysid shrimp. All it does is sit on the bottom of the sand.

Thanks box :)

boxfishpooalot
12/10/2006, 02:42 PM
nobody has one?

splateee
12/10/2006, 03:04 PM
Our Dogface puffer goes nuts over frozen Krill. We also feed it shrimp and crab meat.

monicaswizzle
12/10/2006, 03:26 PM
Boxfish--

I have no experience with puffers of any kind. That said, I have been trying to coax a Whitley's boxfish to eat. No luck, not even with live food (saltwater shrimp and black worms). I was looking through an "old" (1980's) marine hobby book and they talked about coaxing difficult fish to eat. They suggested buying fresh mussels, breaking open the shell and putting the shell and all in the tank. My boxfish goes nuts over these. He bites down on the mussel flesh and swims all around the tank "shaking his head" until the flesh finally breaks off in his mouth and the shell drops back to the sand. I have no idea if puffers are "supposed to eat" mussel, but you might give it a try. All of my tank seems to love the mussel. Even the purple tang tries to push the boxfish out so that it can get a nip.

Good luck!

Ritten
12/10/2006, 03:28 PM
My son's will only freeze dried Krill. We have tried everything else, shrimp (fresh) myasis, you name it.

LittlePuff
12/11/2006, 11:54 AM
Krill, shrimp, crabs, snails, mussel, clams, and plankton.

JokerGirl
12/11/2006, 12:17 PM
My brackish water puffer eats live shrimp, freeze dried shrimp, snails, and mussels.

One thing you might try doing is putting some food in when the lights are out. I've had great success with getting new fish to eat by doing that.

luke33
12/11/2006, 12:20 PM