PDA

View Full Version : Mantis or Pistol?

jasper24
12/11/2006, 01:40 PM
Ok I have not been able to get a pic yet as I can hear it but not see it. I have been hearing the clicks for about 4 months now. No fish deaths or unusual snail deaths. I have seen beady eyes sticking out of a hole in my LR. I see where it is boring in to the rock and tossing out dust / debis from the hole. Do both OPistols and Mantis bore their holes in LR? Any way to determine without seeing it? Thanks.

somethingphishy
12/11/2006, 01:47 PM
try checking the tank out at night with a red light maybe you will be able to figure it out. If it is not coming out during the day maybe you'll have better luck at night time.

I would have to think if it was a mantis you might be short some fish/inverts....if your hearing noises it would seem to be a pistol

jasper24
12/11/2006, 01:49 PM
I will try the red flash light. Thanks. Yea I hear a random click like if you gently tapped a snail shell against the glass. I have looked to make sure that it is not LR or equipment hitting the glass.

SDguy
12/11/2006, 01:57 PM
Well, pistol shrimp don't have "beady" eyes, so that's a big clue.

jasper24
12/11/2006, 02:02 PM
OK I just caught a brief glimpse of this guy. It definately has eyes that potrude out like the are attached by a rod or antenna. Mantis?

jasper24
12/11/2006, 02:06 PM
OK never mind. It is a mantis. I just got a full view. It is about 1.5 inches and looks to be black or dark and has some red or orange in it.

somethingphishy
12/11/2006, 02:12 PM
here's some really bad advise but i'm in a weird mood after reading about someone building a tank constructed from plywood?!?!?!?............

stick your thumb in the hole if you yell loud it is a mantis if not it's a poistol.

dippin61
12/11/2006, 02:52 PM
<a href=showthread.php?s=&postid=8727661#post8727661 target=_blank>Originally posted</a> by somethingphishy