PDA

View Full Version : surge device with auto top up.

UKnanonoob
12/13/2006, 04:30 PM
Im currently in the process of designing a large tank which will be housed in a seperate building at the end of my garden. AS i have very little spare space in the house i thought this was the only option for me and it will give me a chance to keep a large tank too.

The tank itself is going to measure 1500mm*1500mm*500mm. I have worked this out to be roughly 247 uk gallons. Im going to run a 40 or maybe 60 gallon sump with 7inch sand bed and also house all other equipment in here.

Seeing as im new to all this and only playing with the idea at the moment i think this is the best time to clear up all the finer details of the system as once i have the tank made and up and running anything overlooked could be disasterous.

My question is. Im goi use a pair of surge devices a bit like what you have in your toilet system to produce the main part of my flow. I will have small power heads too but feel that a surge device will look great in action and also benifit my livestock greatly. Seeing as the whole system will be housed in a seperate building noise from the flushing will not be a problem. Now as im employing this technique and as a result my water levels will be changing constantly will it be possible for me to use an auto matic water top off unit to top evaporated water up?:D

Stoney Mahony
12/13/2006, 06:33 PM
Yep:) Mount the float switch in your sump level with the water when the surge tank is full. When the S tank dumps, water in the tank/sump will rise which wont hurt anything, and when the S tank fills up again, the float switch should still be up. When water evaporates, the auto top off will kick in when the sump water level is the lowest and the surge tank is nearly full. It might come on a little more frequent but it will still work good. Hope that helps :)

RandyStacyE
12/13/2006, 06:49 PM